National Water Quality Monitoring Council Awards

As part of the National Monitoring Conference, the National Water Quality Monitoring Council (NWQMC) recognizes individuals and groups whose leadership, technical expertise, or collaborative efforts has made a difference in our profession.


Award Information

The Elizabeth Jester Fellows Award is awarded to an individual whose outstanding achievement, exemplary service, and distinguished leadership in water quality carry on in Elizabeth’s spirit of public service and commitment to environmental protection. The Barry A. Long Award honors an individual who has demonstrated exceptional perseverance, positive spirit, and significant contributions to water resource protection. The Vision Award recognizes a monitoring council or group that has demonstrated extraordinary vision and cooperation in the field of water quality monitoring on a local or regional level to enhance the management and protection of aquatic resources.


2023 Award Recipients

The National Water Quality Monitoring Council is proud to announce the recipients of its 2023 awards:

Barry A. Long Award
Barb Horn, Colorado Parks and Wildlife (retired)

Elizabeth Jester Fellows Award
Sarah Spaulding, US Geological Survey

2021 Vision Award
URI Watershed Watch