NALMS 2023 Election Results

The annual election for officers and directors is an important way for NALMS members to provide input in the management of the Society. Our officers and directors are all volunteers who serve without pay. Thank you to all the candidates for their dedication to NALMS and thank you to all NALMS members who participated in this year’s election!


President-elect – Victoria Chraïbi

Victoria Chraïbi is a tenured associate professor of aquatic ecology at Tarleton State University. She holds a B.A. from Hanover College, Indiana, a Fulbright scholarship to McGill University, Quebec, an M.S. in water resources science from the University of Minnesota Duluth, and a Ph.D. in earth and atmospheric sciences from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. As a paleolimnologist, past research includes Lake Memphrémagog, Lake Superior, and Yellowstone National Park. As a phycologist, current research focuses on Texas streams and reservoirs. Victoria is the assistant director of Timberlake Field Station, for which she coordinates educational outreach programming and manages student research initiatives.


Secretary – Danielle Wain

Dr. Danielle Wain is the Lake Science Director at the 7 Lakes Alliance, a regional NGO in the Belgrade Lakes watershed in central Maine, where she leads the water quality monitoring research program across the lakes. She has a BS in Civil Engineering (with an Environmental Engineering focus) from Cornell University and completed her PhD in Civil Engineering (with an emphasis in Environmental and Water Resources Engineering) at Iowa State University. Before moving to Maine, she was a Lecturer (Assistant Professor) in Water Quality Engineering at the University of Bath (UK). Her expertise is in process-based understanding of how lake and reservoir hydrodynamics impact ecology and biogeochemistry and how we leverage this knowledge to develop management strategies. She has been serving as Secretary of NALMS since January 2021.


Region 4 Director – Amy Giannotti

Amy Giannotti is the founder of AquaSTEM Consulting, LLC – an environmental consulting company specializing in lake and aquatic plant management, aquatic habitat restoration, and STEM outreach initiatives. Amy is a Certified Lake Manager and has over 25 years of experience working in temperate and subtropical marine and freshwater systems, including coastal and freshwater vegetation dynamics, exotic species management, impacts of nutrient enrichment and remediation efforts, stormwater management and watershed hydrology, submerged caves, and public speaking on environmental issues affecting lakes, springs, and karst community ecology. Amy holds a Bachelor of Science degree in biology from Marietta College (Ohio) and earned her Master of Science degree in environmental science from the University of Virginia, with a specialty in marine ecology. Since 2022, she has been serving as the NALMS Region 4 Director and is a member of the Professional Certification Program Committee.


Region 7 Director – Tony Thorpe

Tony Thorpe has been the coordinator/program manager of the Lakes of Missouri Volunteer Program (LMVP) since 2001. The LMVP is a community science endeavor housed in the Aquatic Ecology laboratory at the University of Missouri that has collected over 19,000 water samples across the state of Missouri. Tony has been on the Board of Directors for the Lake of the Ozarks Watershed Alliance since its creation in 2006 and was active in the development of Missouri’s lake nutrient criteria. Tony earned his MS at the University of Missouri by examining the relationship between heterotrophic bacteria and measures of lake trophic state.


Region 8 Director – Caleb Owen

Caleb Owen is the Water Quality Administrator for the City of Thornton, Colorado where he leads the source water monitoring, management, and protection of more than 40,000 acft of water across 16 lakes and three watersheds. He also leads Thornton’s regulatory affairs and compliance program. He has worked for Thornton since 2015, initially performing water sampling and lab analysis. Caleb has served on the board of directors for the Colorado Lake and Reservoir Management Association since 2020, currently serving as President. He holds a B.S. in Chemistry and an Area of Special Interest in Environmental Science and Engineering from Colorado School of Mines.


Region 11 Director – Liz Favot

Liz Favot is a surface water scientist with the Ministry of the Environment, Conservation and Parks in Sudbury, Ontario, where she analyzes water quality data from industrial operations to support compliance with environmental laws. In prior roles, Liz worked for the Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry as a fisheries policy biologist, and a research biologist, out of the Cooperative Freshwater Ecology Unit at the Vale Living with Lakes Centre, and as the Assistant Lake Stewardship Coordinator helping the Federation of Ontario Cottagers’ Associations (FOCA) to organize Canada’s largest community science lake water quality monitoring program (the Ontario Lake Partner Program). Liz completed her PhD and post-doctoral studies at Queen’s University in Kingston, Ontario. Her research focuses on applying paleolimnology to establish the environmental history of lakes affected by cyanobacterial blooms, which aids in establishing baseline conditions and developing historically informed management targets.

2022–2023 Officers and Directors

Kellie Merrell

Victoria Chraïbi

Kiyoko Yokota

Shannon Brattebo

Danielle Wain

Region 1 Director
Jeremy Deeds

Region 2 Director
Nicole White

Region 3 Director
Ben Rhoades

Region 4 Director
Amy Giannotti

Region 5 Director
Ralph Bednarz

Region 6 Director

Region 7 Director
Tony Thorpe

Region 8 Director
Caleb Owen

Region 9 Director
Deena Hannoun

Region 10 Director
Mark Rosenkranz

Region 11 Director
Liz Favot

Region 12 Director
Jay Toews

Student Director
Mikala L’Hote

At-Large Director
Brian Ginn