NALMS 2021 Achievement Award Winners

December 6, 2021

Contact: Alyssa Anderson, Marketing & Membership Director
Phone: 608-233-2836

North American Lake Management Society Honors Members & Partners with 2021 Achievement Awards

MADISON, WI – Shining a spotlight on deserving individuals and organizations who have made valuable contributions to the goals of the North American Lake Management Society (NALMS), or have made significant strides in lake management, NALMS Annual Achievement Award winners represent the very best amongst its members and partners.

NALMS Achievement Awards are presented annually at the Society’s International Symposium, which was recently held November 15-19, 2021 in a unique virtual format. This year, NALMS was pleased to honor and recognize a variety of individuals and groups, who were nominated by their peers, from across the United States and Canada.

The 2021 Leadership and Service Award recipient, for their work in Community Education and Outreach, is as follows:

The 2021 Appreciation Award winners are as follows:

The Jim LaBounty Best Paper Award, established in 2003, is given annually to recognize and honor the best paper published in the Lake and Reservoir Management journal. This year’s honor went to:

  • Low sediment redox promotes cyanobacteria blooms across a trophic range: implications for management., Lake and Reservoir Management. 37 (2): 120-142. Lewis A. Molot, Sherry L. Schiff, Jason J. Venkiteswaran, Helen M. Baulch, Scott N. Higgins, Arthur Zastepa, Mark J. Verschoor, and Daniel Walters.

More information on the 2021 NALMS Achievement Awards, including the full nomination letter for each award winner, can be found at


Founded in 1980, the North American Lake Management Society (NALMS) is a nonprofit organization focused on the management and protection of lakes and reservoirs. A melting pot, welcoming anyone with an interest in lakes, NALMS strives to forge partnerships among citizens, scientists, and professionals to achieve this mission.