Jody Connor Student Awards – 2018

The poster session at the 2018 Symposium was held on Halloween.

Each year NALMS presents student awards to the best student presentation and best student poster at the annual NALMS symposium. The awards are sponsored by SOLitude Lake Management. The NALMS Board renamed the student award as the Jody Connor Student Award in memory of Jody Connor, a long-time friend of NALMS who was active on the Education Committee and participated in the reviews of student presentations and posters.

The first-place winner receives a check for $200 and a plaque. Honorable mention or second place winners receive a plaque. The Student Awards Committee is co-chaired by Alex Horne and Frank Browne. Members of the committee include Amy Smagula, Harry Gibbons, Holly Waterfield, Jennifer Graham, Ann St. Amand, Matt Albright, and Dick Osgood. The awards are based on scientific merit, research design, visual aids, clarity and presentation. The 2018 first-place winner of the student presentation award was Vinicius Taguchi from the University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, Minnesota for his paper “Some Stormwater Ponds Release Phosphorus.” The second-place award went to Rachel Pilla from Miami University, Oxford, Ohio for her paper “Structural Changes to Lake Ecosystems Resulting from Long-Term Browning.” The 2018 first-place winner of the student poster session was Hayden Henderson from Michigan Technological University, Houghton, Michigan for his poster “Neither Wolf nor Dog: P-Management in a Quasi Polymictic Lake.” Honorable mention for the poster session went to Keiko Wilkins from Miami University, Oxford, Ohio for her poster “The Effects of Hydrogen Sulfide Within the Hypolimnion of a Dystrophic and Eutrophic Lake on Zooplankton Survival and Vertical Distribution.” Students are encouraged to present scientific papers at the NALMS symposium; it provides an excellent way to present research data and maybe win an award.

We thank SOLitude Lake Management for sponsoring the student awards.