NALMS 2023 Achievement Award Winners

November 7, 2023

Contact: Alyssa Anderson, Development & Marketing Director
Phone: 608-233-2836

North American Lake Management Society Honors Members & Partners with 2023 Achievement Awards

MADISON, WI – Shining a spotlight on deserving individuals and organizations who have made valuable contributions to the goals of the North American Lake Management Society (NALMS), or have made significant strides in lake management, NALMS Annual Achievement Award winners represent the very best amongst its members and partners.

NALMS Achievement Awards are presented annually at the Society’s International Symposium, which was recently held October 22-26, 2023 in beautiful Erie, PA, co-hosted by the Pennsylvania Lake Management Society. This year, NALMS was pleased to honor and recognize a variety of individuals and groups, who were nominated by their peers, from across the United States and Canada.

NALMS Leadership & Service Awards, formerly known as the Technical Merit Awards, are given annually to recognize and honor individuals or groups for Successful Projects, Volunteer Actions, Research Efforts, and Public Education/Outreach. The 2023 Leadership and Service Award recipients are as follows:

The Lake Management Success Stories Award is awarded to an individual or team who has demonstrated improvement in lake/reservoir condition or watershed management in a cost-effective manner. The Advancements in Lake Management Technologies Award is awarded to an individual or team who have completed research projects that contribute to the science of lake management. The 2023 Appreciation Award winners are as follows:

  • Living Lakes Canada
    Advancements in Lake Management Technologies
  • Floyd Schmidt
    Lake Management Success Stories Award

The Jim LaBounty Best Paper Award, established in 2003, is given annually to recognize and honor the best paper published in the Lake and Reservoir Management journal. This year’s honor went to:

  • Elizabeth J. Favot, Claire Holeton, Anna M. DeSellas and Andrew M. Paterson. 2023. Cyanobacterial blooms in Ontario, Canada: continued increase in reports through the 21st century. LRM 39(1).

Special awards also included the Secchi Disk Award and the Jim Flynn Outstanding Corporation Award, given annually, respectively, to the individual and the corporation who has made the most significant contributions to the goals and objectives or the Society. The 2023 special award winners are as follows:

  • Dr. Imad Hannoun
    Secchi Disk Award
  • Arion Consultants
    Jim Flynn Outstanding Corporation Award

More information on the 2023 NALMS Achievement Awards, including the full nomination letter for each award winner, can be found at


Founded in 1980, the North American Lake Management Society (NALMS) is a nonprofit organization focused on the management and protection of lakes and reservoirs. A melting pot, welcoming anyone with an interest in lakes, NALMS strives to forge partnerships among citizens, scientists, and professionals to achieve this mission.